What is Perfection?

Perfection

I marvel at those who participate in Book-in-a-Week or even Book-in-a-Month events. I cannot even begin to imagine the self-assurance that it must take to put that much on paper with looking back. Lately my writing style has become much like Lot’s wife: I look back and immediately turn to stone or at least to writer’s block.

perfection \per-fek-shuhn\ n. 1) the state or quality of being or becoming perfect. 2) the highest degree of proficiency, skill, or excellence, as in some art. 3) a perfect embodiment or example of something. 4) a quality, trait, or feature of the highest degree of excellence.

So, what is perfection? I’m not sure. I know striving for perfection is what turns my creative mind to stone. Every idea, every sentence, every nuance of passion that runs through my brain is filtered by “is it good enough?” And let me tell you, that’s a very fine filter. There is not much that gets left on the page.

2 Samuel 22:31 really speaks to me in times like these:  “This God – his way is perfect; the word of the Lord proves true …” (ESV)

I use e-Sword, a free Bible software, for my devotions. (It is wonderful.) Anyway,  has a Parallel feature that places the different translations of the same verses side-by-side. Using this I saw that the Good News Translation reads, “This God – how perfect are his deeds, how dependable his words!”

Did you see that? “[H]ow dependable his words!”  My words come and go: some good, many bad. But God’s ways are perfect and his words are tried and true. The 1599 Geneva Bible Translation Notes on this verse say, “The manner that God uses to aid his own, never fails.”

And His Word never fails me. The rest of 2 Samuel promises that God will be my refuge and will train me for my battles – even though my battles may be within myself.

I will never reach perfection this side of Heaven, but if I remember to trust Him, He will enable me to continue my work.

What is perfection? God’s Word.

Angie

Leave a Reply

