VERSE OF THE WEEK


VERSE OF THE WEEK
“But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:13b-14

MEDITATION
This seemed to be a particularly apt verse for the latter part of the first month of the year. How many resolutions have you broken so far? Since mine are long-term goals, I can honestly say I haven’t broken any yet. But, I can also say that I haven’t made a lot of progress toward reaching them.

The Apostle Paul reminds the people of Philippi (and us) in this verse that every day is a do-over day. The main thing is not to dwell on past mistakes, but to keep on pressing toward the goal – or as seen on far too many motivational posters – reach for the stars.

Each of has a purpose for being on this huge dirt ball. Do you know how hard it is for conception to take place? Just ask any childless couple – they can tell you the number of minutes that an egg is fertile and what pH is the difference between life and that once monthly “curse” that all women experience.

So, do you know your reason for being here? If you do, congratulations, many never do figure it out. You know the type: those proverbial “lost souls” floating from job-to-job, relationship-to-relationship, never completely getting to the place where they belong. If you know someone like this, I would encourage you to pray for them. However, if this describes you, drop me a line and I’ll be glad to pray for you.

At any rate, don’t dwell on yesterday’s failures because, as a famous green-eyed character once said, “After all, tomorrow is another day.”

PRAYER
Thank you, Father, for loving us so much that you brought us into this world. Help us to discover your reason for doing this and help us to work to this purpose with all our heart.

And thank you for giving us a new start with each new day.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen

6 thoughts on “VERSE OF THE WEEK

  1. Secondary Roads says:

    I borrowed your prayer and posted it on my blog with a link to you. It fit so perfectly with a post I had in mind to do later. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Page McManus says:

    Secondary Roads,

    I’m so glad you were touched by my little post. And no worries “borrowing” my prayer; we all need His guidance.

    Thank so much for traveling my road with me.

    Page

Leave a Reply

