VERSE OF THE WEEK

This week my pastor, Rev. Reed, spoke on resolutions and the theory behind resolutions: that they will somehow make us better. To be better spiritually, of course, is to have a more intimate relationship with our Lord. There two things that will draw us closer to God: memorization and meditation on His Word. He used his father as an example. At age 75, he retired from work and decided that his resolution was to memorize the whole Bible. Even though he lived twenty-five more years, he didn’t make his goal, but Rev. Reed said he did manage to memorize several books in the New Testament, Isaiah and several Psalms.

Wow! Can you imagine being able to recite an entire book of the Bible? As I sit here, drinking my Foglifter coffee (aptly named and much needed), I can’t. But yesterday, my dear daughter-in-law, Crystal, came to me and asked if I would be her accountability partner as she tried to start doing what our pastor recommended. I agreed and we started selecting verses from Philippians and Ephesians that spoke to us. I hope to make this a regular feature of The Road I’m Traveling.

VERSE OF THE WEEK
“And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ to the glory and praise of God.” – Philippians 1:9

MEDITATION
Every day I wonder about the decisions I’ve made. Should I have done this? Would it have been better to have said that? In this verse, the apostle Paul is telling the people of Philippi that he is praying for them to know exactly what to do so that they can be closer to God. That is my prayer for myself – and for you – as well.

Notice Paul doesn’t say that studying will make them more knowledgeable. He doesn’t say that research will do it either. He prayed that they would love more. This verse also makes a promise, that if our love grows, it will help us know what to do. And if we know what to do, then we will be pure and blameless – which, by the way, is not the same as perfect. But, can we ask for anything more?

PRAYER
Thank you, Lord, for your Word and thank you for those you have chosen to teach us. Please help me, Crystal and everyone who reads this to love You more and more so that we can bring glory to You. Amen.

4 thoughts on “VERSE OF THE WEEK

  1. Karen & Gerard Zemek says:

    Scripture memorization and meditation on it is a very good practice. I like to mark in my Bible the verses I memorized with the date next to them because it helps me to review them. Reviewing the ones we’ve memorized is the key to remembering them long-term. Review, review, review. Also, it’s a good test to try writing them out without looking. I did this when taking the Navigators 2.7 courses. Having a person to keep you accountable also helps tremendously. That’s what I’m missing right now, although my Sunday School class sort of does that.

  2. Rita T. says:

    You won’t believe this, but my 15 year old son memorized II Timothy a couple of years ago. He recited it while we read from the Bible to be sure he was doing so correctly. He did this to earn a new computer. I guess I don’t care what his motivation was because once you commit something to memory, it’s there forever.

    Great post.

  3. Page McManus says:

    WoW, Rita! That’s wonderful! And you’re right, he’ll be able to draw from that the rest of his life.

    Good for you, too, because I know you had to help and encourage him as he did it.

    You’ll never regret it.

    Page

Leave a Reply

