Resolution


“Better is the end of a thing than its beginning, and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit.”1

Oh, that is so true in the writer’s life. I’ve been in a bit of a slump lately and haven’t written in a while. Christmas was especially difficult because well-meaning friends and family seemed to always ask, “How’s that book coming along?” I’d always duck my head and reply, “Oh, I’m still working on it.” And I was … in my head, not on paper.

A friend of mine on Twitter was saying how she hadn’t written much since her received her first rejection. Oh, do I remember that! My writing buds sent congratulations though, because they said that now, “I was a real writer.”

I just joined an online group called, “Finish the Book” and I’m supposed to post my 2009 goals. Guess what? I’m scared. I’m scared to make another list of resolutions that will haunt me long past the day in February or March when I give up trying to meet them. A blank piece of paper and a goal of 80,000 – 100,000 words can be a terrifying prospect!

But, this verse reminds me that it doesn’t matter how a project is begun; it is the ending that is most important. It is so easy to start a book, not so easy to finish writing it. And pride? How many of us have started something and proudly told friends, “I’m writing a book,” “… painting a picture,” “…making jewelry,” or (insert name of your project here).

Patience and perseverance will see us through to the end,

  • even when we reach that point where we absolutely hate whatever-it-is-that-we’re-doing,
  • even when our project is rejected or criticized,
  • even when we just want to give up.

And how will I find the willpower and strength to be patient? When I come to the end, will I be able to say with Paul,

 “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith?”2

Prayer and partners are the keys to perseverance,

  • prayer to the One who gave me the project in the first place, and
  • partners who travel along with me.

In other words, YOU, my friends.


I hope that I can offer you some encouragement in the New Year and I look forward to y’all (I’m Southern – can’t help it) encouraging me as you have been doing.


Thanks so much for traveling with me.


Page

 

1 Ecclesiastes 7:8 (ESV)

2 2 Timothy 4:7 (ESV)

3 thoughts on “Resolution

  1. ESCUDERO says:

    Hi I have chosen you to receive a Lemonade award – Love your blog. Pls check my blog for further instructions. Enjoy!

  2. Page McManus says:

    Oh Escudero! Thank you so much! That is so sweet of you! I’m afraid I’ve already gotten it once though – does that matter?

    Let me know what to do.

    Sherry,

    Thank you so much! I really appreciate your support. It’s the only way I’ll get it finished.

    Page

Leave a Reply

