Review: Lying on Sunday by Sharon K. Souza

If you’ve been reading my blog for a little while, you know that I’m writing a mystery novel. You also know that I have a lot of physical issues and a lot of pain. I’m not complaining, though! The apostle Paul said in Romans 5:3-5 that, “… we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” [ESV]

Because of my physical pain, death of my dad and other issues, I haven’t been able to write lately. I guess I could call it “writer’s block.” In Friday’s post, I mentioned that I believe that the Lord is in control of my life. I am sure that He brought this book into my hands for the purpose of healing my spirit.

First of all, Sharon Souza is an excellent writer. Her descriptions, dialogue and characterization put you right in the middle of her protagonist’s (Abbie’s) life. This is not a very comfortable place at times. As a new widow, her daughters, mother and best friend try to run her life. Abbie just takes their manipulations and accusations as she tries to protect her family from the fact her husband was unfaithful. To top it all off, she’s clumsy – bless her heart. There were times that I just wanted to shake her.

And then I realized that there was a lot of me in Abbie. Sharon Souza doesn’t preach or judge in this book. She just allows her characters to live their lives and learn their lessons in the importance of telling the truth and healing. I think that’s why this book spoke to me so much – because I was living Abbie’s life with her.

I recommend this book for anyone who is dealing with betrayal, difficult family relationships, trust issues, pain, starting over, enabling, being a people-pleaser … basically any woman alive today. I hope that if you do read it, that it touches you as much as it touched me. Thanks, Sharon, for writing this book.

One thought on “Review: Lying on Sunday by Sharon K. Souza

Leave a Reply

