An Irishwoman’s Tale by Patti Lacy

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
An Irishwomans’ Tale
Kregel Publications (July 8, 2008)
by
Patti Lacy

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Patti Lacy graduated from Baylor University in 1977 with a B.S. in education. She taught at Heartland Community College in Normal, Illinois, until she retired in 2006 to pursue writing full time. She has two grown children with her husband, Alan, and lives in Illinois.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Far away from her Irish home, Mary Freeman begins to adapt to life in Midwest America, but family turmoil and her own haunting memories threaten to ruin her future.

A shattered cup. Cheap tea. Bitter voices asking what’s to be done with the “little eejit.” Mary, an impetuous Irishwoman, won’t face the haunting memories–until her daughter’s crisis propels her back to County Clare. There, in a rocky cliffside home, Mary learns from former neighbors why God tore her from Ireland forty-five years earlier. As she begins to glimpse His sovereign plan, Mary is finally able to bury a dysfunctional past and begin to heal. Irish folk songs and sayings add color to the narrative.

Watch the Book Trailer:

If you would like to read the first chapter of , go HERE

4 thoughts on “An Irishwoman’s Tale by Patti Lacy

  1. Anonymous says:

    Who writes these reviews? I find the same verbiage on so many blogs – verbatim. The way this blog is set up, one would think the words here are coming from you. I’m confused, Angie

    The posts which are obviously yours – colors after a rain, deaths of those close to you, fixing things for those close to you – are very powerful and thought provoking, and exhibit exemplary writing skills…

    I’m anxious to read a review written by you…

  2. Page McManus says:

    Fair question, Anonymous.

    The CFBA is the Christian Fiction Bloggers Association and introduces new releases by Christian authors. Since I am a member, I receive a list each month or so of books available to read and review. Members can choose as many as they like. Since my life as been a little hectic lately, I didn’t choose as many books as usual from the last list.

    However, I’ve met Patti Lacy at writers’ conferences and was very impressed with her enthusiasm, personality and humble spirit. An Irishwoman’s Tale was one of the books I’d wanted to read.

    So, when the introduction (not review) came out, I decided that it would be a good one to show to my readers.

    I have reviewed books this year in the past posts: The Coming Wrath by John Reed – October 27th; When the Soul Mends by Cindy Woodsmall – September 2nd, etc. But, as members of CFBA, we’re asked to post them using a certain format – my review is at the end under the simple heading of “Review.”

    I will be posting a review of Brandilyn Collins’ new book in soon – and can’t wait. It was a very good book – Brandilyn’s best.

    About my own writing: thank you so much! I really appreciate your kind words. They warmed my heart.

    And thank YOU, for your thoughtful questions.

    Angie
    writing as P.S. “Page” McManus

  3. Page McManus says:

    Hey Anonymous!

    I just went back and read my response to your comment – I feel like I need to apologize. As a former teacher, sometimes I fall back into that mode and sound a little “lecture-y.”

    I hope it didn’t read that way.

    Thanks so much for traveling with me.

Leave a Reply

