And the winner is ….


… Kristi from Oklahoma! Congratulations, Kristi! I know you’ll love your choice.

This month, I’d like to hear from you about something that’s been on my mind lately. I was talkng with a friend yesterday – actually IMing, but same difference – about how women today are trying so hard to “find” themselves.

This is why I said that:

When the women of my generation – yes, I’m a boomer – came along, we were told that we could do it all, have it all, and be anything we wanted to be. So we tried to do that.

Some succeeded. Others didn’t. But, we tried so hard. Supermom, super-executive, super-everything! As a result, we raised our children by proxy. We spent our time with them in the car, shuttling them from one care provider to another in the form of daycare, softball, baseball, soccer, dance, piano, violin — you get the picture. Now, there were some who succeeded and had a wonderful relationship with their children. There were others who are first to admit that they failed miserably. But I hope we all did the best we could.

Unfortunately the consequence of our actions is that our daughters don’t seem to know WHO they are. (I know, I know, it sounds like a bunch of hippie-talk. I told you I was a boomer.) Today’s women seem to be wondering if they should try to do it all like their moms or be Martha-you-know-who/Suzy Homemaker types like their grandmothers. Add all the celebrities’ extramarital affairs and premarital babies to the mix and it’s no wonder they’re confused. A young mother I once knew always did the best things for her baby, worked Saturdays to get ahead at the job, went to church every Sunday, had a dirty mouth and dirtier mind. She had no clue who she was or why she was here on this earth.

Before we can know why we’re here, don’t we need to know who we are?

Psalm 139: 1-4 (ESV) says, “O LORD, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.” Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we knew ourselves as the Lord knows us? Wouldn’t it be great if we actually knew the purpose that the Lord had in mind when He “knitted [us] together in [our] mother’s womb” (Ps. 139:13b)? The only way to do that is to get to know the “Knitter.”

I know, I know, this isn’t limited to “today’s woman.” The closer any of us are to our Father, the closer we are to knowing ourselves – warts and all. Thankfully, to quote a 70’s poster, “be patient, God isn’t finished with me yet.”

So, here’s the questions for this month’s contest (don’t worry about answering all of them, just pick one):

  • What has helped you “find” yourself?
  • What Bible verse speaks to you?
  • What is your purpose in life?

Leave your comments and you’ll be entered in my contest.

2 thoughts on “And the winner is ….

  1. Donna M says:

    The bible verse that speaks to me is Phillipians 4:12-13 I know what it is to be in need, and to have plenty. I have learned the secret to being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do do everything through him who gives me strength.

    I love this verse because it reminds me that no matter the situation I have God with me. With that knowlegde I have contentment no matter the situation I find myself in. So it is not that I need to search for myself but I know that I am loved and taken care of always.

  2. Page McManus says:

    Good thoughts, Donna, and I love that verse, too. You’re right, if we remember that God is in control, it doesn’t matter what happens to us.

    Thanks so much,

    Page

Leave a Reply

