A Winner & Mysteries of Life

And the winner is … Lucie in California! I don’t know what she’s won yet, because she gets to choose her favorite Christian mystery novel as her prize! How cool is that?

And we need some cool because July is a hot, hot month, don’t ‘cha think? So this month I’m giving away a romance novel! (Yes, it’s a Christian romance.) And since I’ve been doing a little bit of jewelry making this month, I’m also giving away a handmade necklace, bracelet and earring set. (I’ll show photos and particulars in tomorrow’s post.) As always, comment on this blog or subscribe to my newsletter to be included in the drawing.

Last month’s contest was a lot of fun because it was mysterious. Lucie chooses the prize and I just go get it for her. But most of the time, if I’m not in control of life, it can get pretty disconcerting.

Several people very close to me are going through some difficult times right now. Marriage, work, money and general life difficulties are really putting them in hard places. And there’s not one thing I can do about it.

Don’t you hate that? I just want to FIX everything for them … make it all better. But I can’t.

This morning I read from a book called, When I’m Seeking God’s Will (Windows of Worship). It’s a spiral-bound devotional journal by Greg Allen, Rick Rusaw, and Dan Stuecher. This morning’s devotion was Be of Value. In it, Rusaw writes that when he was beginning his first job in a local church, he was very ambitious with lots of dreams and ideas for the future. When he shared those with an elderly minister on staff, Dr. Lester Ford, he was given some sage advice.

Ford told Rusaw that his dreams were good and he should continue to dream. But he also reminded him that he needed to learn to be of value where he was, “[b]ecause if you don’t learn to do that, you won’t have much of a future. And you can’t be of value somewhere you’re not.”

I know when God gives me a vision of the future (maybe not a literal vision, but a dream of how we can be used by God), it’s so difficult to stay where I am. I feel like I’m stuck in limbo, itching to reach out and grab that next goal. But …

(There’s always a “but,” isn’t there!) But God has placed me where I am for a reason. I haven’t published my book because it’s not ready. My friend hasn’t found a job or a home because the time is not right. My children aren’t happy and perfect and well because … this isn’t heaven.

I told someone yesterday that God is not only anywhere, but He’s also anywhen. Readers of Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series may recognize that term. The concept in those novels meant that the hero or heroine could ride their dragon back in time to any point in their life. Kinda like the Quantum Leap premise. (Yes, I went through a sci-fi phase. Actually, I’m not completely out of it.)

But I like to think of God as being everytime at once. The Bible tells us of God’s amazing power and wisdom. He’s not only God of our past, but also the God of our future. He knows what’s going to happen to us. He’s read the end of the book! There are no mysteries for him.

So that’s where I place my trust. God loves and cares for each of His children. His plans for us may not include prosperity or wealth, but our only concern should be to remain in the center of His perfect will. It’s only then that we accomplish our purpose.

Don’t get me wrong: in the mind of those in a personal relationship with Christ, hopes and dreams are a gift from God. But we should also remember that He is in control of our present. We are where we are because of His will.

Father, help us always to remember to be grateful for what you’ve given us. Help us to be aware of Your purpose for us, no matter our circumstances. Help us always to look for your job “assignments” in every situation. And remind us that You are in control of our future and that you will bring it to pass in Your time. Thank you for loving us. Amen.

4 thoughts on “A Winner & Mysteries of Life

  1. Pamela J says:

    Where did you say you live, Page? I thought maybe in our North Spare Room. We have been chatting here about why certain things happen to us… RIGHT NOW. We have also come to the conclusion that He already knows why, we need to trust that He has us in this position for a reason. A friend of mine fell from a ladder and tore a ligament in her heel. She is expected to be healing for 4-6 weeks and she has three LITTLE ones. One of the verses we had been looking at had to do with looking at the lovely things and she decided to find praises through the difficulties. You guessed it, she did find some and is thrilled that she can see God working even through her inabilities.

    Here is this focus thing again. Focus on God’s plans, not ours. His blessings, not what we can do in and of ourselves.

    Thanks for sharing, I’m loving your thoughts.

    Pam

  2. Lucie says:

    I just wanted to comment on this blog. It really touched me, especially the two following,

    “He’s not only God of our past, but also the God of our future. He knows what’s going to happen to us. He’s read the end of the book! There are no mysteries for him.”

    And also this bit of wisdom, “Ford told Rusaw that his dreams were good and he should continue to dream. But he also reminded him that he needed to learn to be of value where he was, “[b]ecause if you don’t learn to do that, you won’t have much of a future. And you can’t be of value somewhere you’re not.”

    I will take those with me for a long time. Thank you for allowing God’s guidance in your writings. I couldn’t not say anything πŸ™‚

    Blessings,

    Lucie

    LucieInCA (at) aol (dot) com

  3. Page McManus says:

    Oh Lucie!

    Thank you so much for your comments. When I read that God used my little post to touch you, it made me cry (happy tears, of course).

    Thanks so much for the encouragement! I’ll take your comments with me as well. πŸ™‚

    Page

  4. Page McManus says:

    Pam,

    You ladies are the best! Thank you so much for sharing that you’ve been encouraged by my post.

    I’ll be remembering your friend in prayer. How hard it must be for her! How blessed she is to have you as a friend!

    I love Philippians 4:8, too. Our former pastor’s wife challenged us to memorize that verse, so I made an mnemonic to help (it’s not in order but your get the idea): TuRNiP LEAP – I know it’s weird, but that makes it memorable.

    “Finally brethren, whatever is TRUE, whatever is RIGHT, whatever is NOBLE, whatever is PURE, whatever is LOVELY, whatever is ADMIRABLE, if anything be EXCELLENT or worth of PRAISE, think about these things.” Phil. 4:8

    Thanks for the reminder, Pam!

    Page

Leave a Reply

