Being an Outsider

Do you ever feel like you’re outside looking in? I’ve had this come up in several conversations this week and even “eavesdropped” on a conversation about it on a TV show. It seems that the world is changing! Actually, it feels like the world has gone crazy!

I’ve been shaking my head at what I’ve seen people doing. Not strangers or people in the news – in this world of Jerry Springer and Judge Joe Brown, I expect that – unfortunately. But those I thought of as friends have lied, cheated and done anything they could to get their way – even if it hurts me and the ones I love. The hurt is enormous. I haven’t blogged much this month because I’ve been trying to deal with these feelings and the situation that caused them.

It’s been real struggle for me. But last night I finally figured it out (as much as my little bitty brain can).

I’ve been a hypocrite. Sin is sin. All sin separates us from God – no matter what the world says. In God’s eyes, I’m just as bad as the man that murdered my husband’s best friend. How can I say that?

Imagine two white pieces of paper. One piece has footprints on it. It’s been crumpled, stained, and torn. It may even smell from some of the stains.

Now imagine that the other pieces of paper is pristine, white, crisp, with sharp edges. But … if you get out your magnifying glass … you can see a microscopic dot right in the center. (Yes, there is a dot on the image.)

So, which one is perfect? Right. Neither one. (And no, I’m not saying that all my sins add up to one tiny dot. The Lord KNOWS the truth about that!) But our Lord is perfect. The sin is what separates us from Him.

As a matter of fact, there is a truth from the Bible that describes this situation; so much so that it’s repeated three times:

Psalms 14:3 says, “They have all turned aside; together they have become corrupt; there is none who does good, not even one.” (ESV)

Psalms 53:3 says, “They have all fallen away; together they have become corrupt; there is none who does good, not even one.”

And Paul quotes these verses in Romans 3:12 “All have turned aside; together they have become worthless; no one does good, not even one.”

I’ve lied, cheated and betrayed my Lord every time I did it to someone else. I’ve sinned and as a Christian – one who serves Christ and takes His Name – I should have known better. And so, I must forgive and love as I have been forgiven and have experienced Christ’s love.

I’m trying – I really am.

But it’s so hard.

2 thoughts on “Being an Outsider

  1. Pamela J says:

    I’ve been right there with you, Page! Our whole assembly has gone through some pretty rough waters this month. Seems like we EACH have been dealing with stuff that seems very hard to overcome. All at once. Before this month, God’s enemy has attacked one of us at a time so it has been hard to all be attacked at the same time. Who is there to pick us up who are down? We are still to do that for each other even in the midst of our difficulties.
    The realization hit me in the middle of this bout of evil that GOD STILL LOVES US. It is the sin that He hates. That realization has helped me to love more as God loves, to reach out with His love to the one or ones who have hurt me so bad.
    The verse that says no one can separate us from the Love of God talks about Him loving us in spite of our sin. IT IS THE SIN HE HATES. I had the opportunity to tell a young man that very thing. Going through this month has had a profound impact on me because of this truth and I hope I don’t forget the lesson too quickly.
    WOW! Going through this that I wrote in the previous paragraphs I see that I repeated myself on a statement. I’ve heard if God says it more than once in Scripture, we need to pay close attention to it. I felt I was impressed to write this for the Lord so others can re-direct their focus to Whom the focus should be on. The end of Matthew Chapter 5 says “Be ye perfect as God is perfect” and this means in loving others as He would: in spite of the sin because He loves the one who did the sinning.
    Enough of my rambling. Forgive, love, focus.
    Pam
    cepjwms at yahoo dot com

  2. Page McManus says:

    Wow, Pam! What a great comment! Thank you so much for the encouragement and reminder that we are commanded to love – regardless. It helps so much to know that someone else is going through the same thing.

    (This would be a great blog topic for you, dear!)

    Thank you for your prayers and support.

    It is NECESSARY to travel with friends. 🙂

    Page

Leave a Reply

