SINCERELY, MAYLA by Virginia Smith and May Book Giveaway

Image Hosted by ImageShack.usABOUT THE BOOK
Will Mayla Strong’s life ever resemble normal? Just as she settles into a great place with God, everything else falls apart. In the course of a single week she loses her job, wrecks any chance at a relationship with Pastor Paul, gets the cold shoulder from her friend Stuart, and learns that Lindsey—the teenage sister of her late friend Alex — needs a place to stay. What good is being a control freak if nobody will do what you tcll thcm?

Taking advantage of her newfound “vacation time,” Mayla flees to her grandmother’s house in Florida. But one by one, her problems follow … literally. In this touching sequel to Just As I Am, quirky Mayla Strong comes face-to-iace with the responsibilities and joys of friends and family. As she tries to help her loved ones, Mayla begins to realize that God has all the answers — the trick is letting go long enough for Him to prove it.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Virginia Smith is an award-winning author of humorous novels, a speaker, and an avid scuba diver. She left her twenty-year career as a corporate director in the summer of 2005 to launch her career as a writer. Since that time she has received contracts for ten inspirational novels. She writes in two genres: contemporary fiction and mysteries. Sincerely, Mayla is her fifth release, following Just As I Am, Murder by Mushroom, Bluegrass Peril and Stuck in the Middle.

Sincerely, Mayla is the long-awaited sequel to Ginny’s debut novel. Of her new book, Ginny says,

“My quirky heroine wormed her way into people’s hearts in Just As I Am, and they demanded more. I’m excited to give Mayla center stage again, and thrilled to know that readers love her as much as I do.”

Ginny has published articles in a variety of magazines, and her short fiction has been anthologized. She maintains an active membership in several professional organizations, including Christian Writers Fellowship International, and American Christian Fiction Writers. She also serves on the board of directors for the Christian Authors Network.

In March of 2008, she was honored to be named Writer of the Year at Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference, an award selected by the conference’s 72 faculty and staff members representing a cross section of the Christian publishing industry.

When she isn’t writing or speaking, Ginny and her husband, Ted, enjoy exploring the extremes of nature – snow skiing in the Wasatch Mountains near Salt Lake City, motorcycle riding on the curvy roads in central Kentucky, and scuba diving in the warm waters of Mexico and the Caribbean.

REVIEW

Virginia Smith has done it again. Her newest book, Sincerely, Mayla, is a sequel to Just As I Am and continues the story of Mayla Strong, not your average run-of-the-mill new Christian. And the sequel is just as compelling and convicting as the original!

Have you ever been shopping and noticed a group of goths in a corner? Or have you driven past a college or high school and slowed when you saw a purple-haired girl with piercings and tattoos? What was your reaction?

My husband and I went to Myrtle Beach this past weekend to celebrate Mother’s Day. It turned out to be Bike Week as well. In case you were wondering, Bike Week refers to eight days in May when Harley Davidson riders invade the coastal South Carolina town. (“Honey” swears he had no idea it was Harley Week. Right!) Now, some of these folks are professional men and women who just enjoy riding motorcycles, but there are also those who look like the stereotypical blue tattooed-multiple pierced-leather wearing-Hell’s Angel-type. To my chagrin, I admit I was more likely to speak to those who looked “presentable” according to my standards.

Ginny’s book reminds us that Christians come in all sizes, colors and “fashions.” The main character, Mayla Strong, sported purple hair and a pierced nostril in Just As I Am. She’s a little more subdued in Sincerely, Mayla, but is still dealing with difficult issues. And just like our real life issues – regardless of what we’re facing – even when Mayla runs away to Florida, her issues come trotting along behind her.

Virginia Smith is the type of author I want to be when I “grow up.” She consistently produces works that are well-written, entertaining fiction. But that’s not all. Her books remind us that there is no typical Christian – we are made differently but are loved the same by an awesome God. Hallelujah!

BLOG TOUR & BOOK GIVEAWAYS

Mayla’s going on tour the week of May 12th! Kregel Publications is sponsoring a blog tour for Sincerely, Mayla. Bloggers all over the Internet will post a book review or even an interview with the author. I’ll be posting an interview with her tomorrow. For links to other reviewers (and perhaps other giveaways), click here.

During the week of May 12th, Ginny’s getting in on the giveaways, too. In fact, she’s giving an autographed copy of Just As I Am and Sincerely, Mayla! Check out Ginny’s “Fun Stuff” page for details.

Now for details on my May Giveaway. You know, May has several holidays: May Day, Cinco de Mayo, Mother’s Day and Memorial Day. Do you know what they all have in common? The letter M! So to celebrate Mayla’s second adventure in the merry month of May (I know, I know – I can’t help myself), I’m giving away something I call my Mayla Mix: a copy of Sincerely, Mayla, red nail polish and a multicolored anklet. (Confused about my choice of items? Check out the cover of the book.) How’s that for cool?

Enter in my giveaway by signing up for my newsletter (if you’ve already subscribed, you’re automatcally entered), leave a comment on today’s post and/or tomorrow’s post. Be sure and enter and tell your friends. I know you all will enjoy Ginny’s book.

5 thoughts on “SINCERELY, MAYLA by Virginia Smith and May Book Giveaway

  1. Virginia Smith says:

    What a great review! Thank you so much, and thanks for participating in the blog tour for SINCERELY, MAYLA.

  2. Page McManus says:

    Thank you, ladies!

    Karin, you’re entered in the giveaway.

    Ginny, it was my pleasure! I really enjoyed the book!

    Page

  3. stampedwithgrace says:

    I loved Just As I Am and I encourage you to read it!
    I’m looking forward to reading more about Mayla 🙂

Leave a Reply

