April Showers Bring May Flowers

HE sendeth sun, he sendeth shower,
Alike they’re needful for the flower:
And joys and tears alike are sent
To give the soul fit nourishment.
As comes to me or cloud or sun,
Father! thy will, not mine, be done!*

Some people don’t like the rain. They mutter and fuss about getting wet or chilled. Personally, I love rainy days. I like to put on my slicker and boots, and then take long walks. Lately I haven’t been able to walk as much as I like because of my physical problems, but I still love the rain.

Have you ever noticed that the world looks different in the rain? Colors are more brilliant. The trees and grass are greener; flowers seem to emerge from the ground in an instant. The world is still. The air is pure and sweet. And in the background … the gentle sound of rain.

One of the first art classes I took in college was painting. In that class we studied how all colors look differently depending on the colors that surround them. Do you know why colors seem brighter on a rainy day? Because they are surrounded by gray. Gray sky. Gray clouds. Gray rain falling down. The dull, dark background makes colors pop!

In the same way, you can’t experience the bold color of extreme joy unless you’ve known dull grayness of sorrow. Not that I wish for sorrow, but have you ever thought that our trials and tribulations may be a blessing? Romans 5:3-5 (ESV) says,

“… we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

Rejoice in our sufferings? That sounds crazy doesn’t it? But look at everything that comes from our pain: endurance, character, hope, and best of all, God’s love. If we are His, we are promised that He will never forsake us and never leave us. He only gives us as much as we can handle – another promise.**

A friend of mine had a son with Down’s syndrome. He was a beautiful child with sunny blonde hair and a bright smile. But having a special needs child did have its trials. One day she showed me a newspaper clipping that someone had given her after her son was born. I don’t remember a lot about the article, but the gist of it was that this child had been given to her because God knew that she was the only one able to care for him. Her son died of complications about a year later and my friend moved away, but I’ve always wondered if her life is any sweeter because of her son’s short life. I know mine is.

This post was supposed to be about this month’s book giveaway, but the Lord laid this on my heart instead. I don’t know who was supposed to see this, but I’m praying for you.

Rainy Day in a Box Giveaway

So, here’s the giveway announcement that was supposed to be posted today. As always, sign up for my newsletter or comment on today’s post and I’ll draw names on April 30th. The winner will receive four Heartsong Presents Mysteries to read on the rainy days and packets of flowers seeds to plant as a promise of brighter days later.

* Stedman, Edmund Clarence, ed. A Victorian Anthology, 1837–1895. Cambridge: Riverside Press, 1895; Bartleby.com, 2003. www.bartleby.com/246/. April 2, 2008.
** 1 Corinthians 10:13
19 thoughts on “April Showers Bring May Flowers

  1. ladystorm says:

    Rainy days are lazy days, I love cozying up to a good book on my couch and listening to it rain. πŸ™‚ I am curious about the new heartsong mystery line and would love to be entered into your contest, please.

    Stormi
    ladystorm282001 at yahoo dot com

  2. luv2read says:

    It is good to be reminded we have a God that brings sun during the storms. THis post reminded me of one of my favorite verses. “THerefore we do not loose hope. Though outwardly we are wasting away,yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For out light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”2 Cor. 5:16-18
    Hope I win the rainy day in a box. We’ve been have a lot of them lately. spowell01(at)bellsouth(dot)net
    luv2read-luv2read

  3. becca dowling says:

    Page,
    Great blog. I agree with a lot of what you shared. In fact I’ve been doing some reflecting of my childhood with an eye for where I mis-interpreted my circumstances or missed God’s grace and growth. Interesting process.

    Supposed to rain here tonight as a matter of fact in sunny central coast California. A hot cup of coffee, a cozy throw and a good book near the window so I can catch a glimpse of the rain while I read: Lovely way to spend part of my day! Please enter me in your Rainy Day Giveaway.

    Blessings,
    becca.dowling[at]yahoo[dot]com

  4. Anonymous says:

    I love rainy days! Nothing compares to snuggling up in my rocking chair, with a good book in my hand, and my pug asleep at my feet in the floor! Please enter my name in the contest! God Bless!
    Kyndra Watkins
    smile_y9 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  5. Ausjenny says:

    Oh I would love to enter allbut the seeds as they cant come to australia. but its coming to winter and sitting by the fire reading is a great thing to do.

  6. Page McManus says:

    Thank you so much for your comments and for sharing a little about yourself, ladies! It makes the journey easier when you hear from others along the road.

    Ladystorm (love your screen-name!), the Heartsong Presents Mystery line has some really great writers – met some of them in Dallas last fall. I know you’ll like them.

    Luv2read,that’s one of my favorite verses, too. Thanks for reminding me of it!

    Thank you, Becca! You’re right. It’s amazing how our memories are colored by our experiences at the time. Yet, when we meet those same people later, their perception of us is entirely different. And, your plans for the night sound lovely!

    Kyndra, I agree (although I have my little red poodle at my feet)! There’s nothing better! Thank you for your blessing! πŸ™‚

    Aw, Jenny! I’m sorry I couldn’t send you the seeds. If your name is drawn, I’ll have to throw in something else extra!

  7. CherryBlossomMJ says:

    I’ve always loved mysteries, and only recently have I discovered Christian mysteries. I need to read more as I do not have much under my read belt yet. Also, I just moved into my first house and I have a yard and I’m learning to garden. Those seeds would be much needed here! Plus I’m a Southern belle too if that helps. πŸ™‚

    MJ

    cherryblossommj (at) gmail [dot]com

  8. windycindy says:

    I have always been told “What doesn’t kill me will only make me stronger!”
    Actually, I love rainy days and we have been having a lot of them here.
    I am a nester by nature. I like the inspiration in your post. Thanks for sharing. Cindi
    jchoppes[at]hotmail[dot]com

  9. Carole says:

    Page, thank you for this post. Most people only see the clouds, but you expressed so beautifully what rain brings. My desk window looks out on trees, grass, and the lovely daffodils and tulips that my husband planted for my Christmas present. And rain is expected this afternoon!

    I have been privileged to know a preacher’s daughter with Down’s Syndrome and you are so right – life is sweeter because of her presence.

    I would love to win this box of “rainy day” books. Thank you for the opportunity.

    cjarvis [at] bellsouth [dot] net

  10. Virginia says:

    I think rainy day are lazy days. It has rained all day today and I haven’t got anything done. In the summer when its warn I love to watch the rain, I will set in my porch swing and watch it,but when its cool I just kind of get bord with it. I don’t even like getting out in it when its cool.

  11. Page McManus says:

    MJ,

    Why sho’, dahlin’! Bein’ a Suthe’n belle is always a plus. But ah’m afraid that ol’ SDRNG is a Yankee!

    Seriously, if you don’t win, check out the Heartsong Presents Mysteries. You can order them online from http://www.eharlequin.com or get them from Walmart. I know you’ll like them, too.

    Thanks for writing and entering the contest!

  12. Page McManus says:

    Cindi,

    You’re welcome! We’re having a lot of rainy days, too.

    I wonder if that saying came from that verse.

    Thanks for traveling with me!

  13. petite says:

    A unique and inspiring blog which resounds with me. Thanks. I enjoy mysteries of all types and sometimes ponder the biggest mystery of all, life. We rarely have rain where I live and I don’t mind the intermittent precip.

  14. Patty says:

    We just had rain today. Mysteries are perfect for days just like that. I love mysteries and Heartsong books. I would love to get a few.

    pleblanc_1 at charter dot net

  15. Audra Marie says:

    What a fun giveaway and a wonderful post. I, too, love how the colors are more brilliant on a rainy day. And the sunshine that follows is that much sweeter.

  16. stampedwithgrace says:

    I love the rain best when I can lay in bed and listen to it, which is rare with a 2 yo in the home! I like it least when I have to get my family of nine to church and it’s pouring down 😦 but I’m always grateful when my flowers are blooming!

Leave a Reply

