Guest Blogger: Camy Tang

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, the day when everyone is Irish! (With a name like Page McManus, you know I had to say SOMETHING!) To learn more about St. Patrick, click here.

Today I’d like to welcome CAMY TANG! She has graciously agreed to be a guest blogger on her blog tour introducing her new book, ONLY UNI.

Camy, thanks so much for being here today. I’m turning the blog over to you!

I’m so excited to be here with Page today! She asked me a question to answer:

Was there ever a time when you felt like you weren’t in control of your life? If so, how did the Lord bring you out of it?

The years I was writing seriously but not published, I felt very out of control of my life. But I also knew it had to be that way.

I am a control freak (gasp! I know that just shocks people), and the thought that my dream career as an author was completely out of my hands was frightening.

But God wanted it that way. He wanted to teach me to rely on Him more, He wanted to shake me up and make me stop trying to do things on my own (sounds a bit like Lex and Trish from my novels, doesn’t it?).

I learned patience the hard way. God worked on me every single day to give my writing career up to Him. I can point to blog post after blog post where I’d whine about not being published yet, blah blah blah. And God always grabbed me and rattled me so that I’d give up my complaining and try to rest in Him.

It was probably the most conflicted inner battle I’ve had as a Christian, because I love writing more than anything else I’ve ever done. But I started to realize that God wanted it that way.

He wanted me to struggle, because in the end, the struggle made me stronger.

Right now, I’m in between contracts. I’ve finished my third contracted book with Zondervan, and I’m sending out proposals to see if they’ll pick up another story from me.

It’s WAY scary. I may never get another contract. I may have to go back to work as a biologist.

But this period of not being in control is nowhere near as spiritually conflicted as when I wasn’t contracted yet. My struggles earlier have helped me to have more peace now, more ability to release my fears and anxious thoughts to Him.

So I guess I’m saying, if you’re going through a similar period, it might not get easier. But it will be good—the way God called His creation “good” when He was making the world.

Camy Tang is the loud Asian chick who writes loud Asian chick lit. She used to be a biologist, but now she is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads a worship team for Sunday service. She also runs the Story Sensei fiction critique service. On her blog, she gives away Christian novels every Monday and Thursday, and she ponders frivolous things like dumb dogs (namely, hers), coffee-geek husbands (no resemblance to her own…), the writing journey, Asiana, and anything else that comes to mind. Visit her website at http://www.camytang.com/ for a huge website contest going on right now, giving away five boxes of books and 25 copies of her latest release, ONLY UNI.

Page here again. Camy, you are the best. I really needed to hear that this morning. And I can tell you, her Story Sensei critique service is wonderful. She has a way of getting to the heart of the problem and showing you (with grace and love) how to improve your manuscript. If you’re a writer, I’d wholeheartedly recommend her service. (Sorry for the cliche, but in this case it works.)

And don’t forget to comment on this or my March 5th post OR sign up to receive my newsletter to win a copy of ONLY UNI and SUSHI FOR ONE! And be sure to check back tomorrow when I’ll post my review of ONLY UNI.
6 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Camy Tang

  1. flchen1 says:

    Thanks for the blog today, Camy (and Page)! What a good reminder that even when we don’t know the way and feel out of control, God’s got it well in hand.

    (Don’t include me in the drawing–thank you!)

  2. Page McManus says:

    Katie,
    She is a great author!

    I read your blog profile – what a noble career choice you’ve made. Be sure to take time from your nursing plans for your physical, spiritual and emotional health. My friend’s daughter just stopped working with critically ill children because it just broke her heart. I’ll be praying for you, Katie.

    BTW, you’re in the contest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

