Sushi for One? by Camy Tang

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Sushi for One?
(Zondervan, September 1, 2007)
by
CAMY TANG

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Camy Tang is a member of CFBA and is a loud Asian chick who writes loud Asian chick-lit. She grew up in Hawaii, but now lives in San Jose, California, with her engineer husband and rambunctious poi-dog. In a previous life she was a biologist researcher, but these days she is surgically attached to her computer, writing full-time. In her spare time, she is a staff worker for her church youth group, and she leads one of the worship teams for Sunday service.Sushi for One? (Sushi Series, Book One is her first novel. Her second, Only Uni (Sushi Series, Book Two) comes out in February 2008!

To celebrate the launch of her debut novel, she’s got a huge contest going on. Camy is giving away baskets of Christian novels and an iPod Nano! Only her newsletter YahooGroup subscribers are eligible to enter, so join today.

For more information about the contest, visit her website.
Contest ends October 31, 2007!

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Lex Sakai’s family, big, nosy, and marriage-minded, is ruled by a crafty grandmother. When her cousin Mariko gets married, Lex will become the OLDEST SINGLE COUSIN in the clan, a loathed position by all single female family members.

Lex has not dated for years.

Grandma hones in on this fact and demands, bribes, and threatens Lex to bring a boyfriend (not just a date) to her cousin’s wedding.

Lex does not want to date … not since that terrible incident a few years back … but, Grandma doesn’t give her that choice.

Lex’s options are slim because she has used her Bible study class on Ephesians to compile a huge list of traits for the PERFECT man (and the more she dates, the more she adds to the list).

The one man she keeps running into (and is completely attracted to) doesn’t seem to have a single quality on her list. It’s only when the always-in-control Lex loses control and lets God take over that all the pieces of this hilarious romance finally fall into place.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW

I know you were a biologist/researcher. Can you trace your decision to be a writer to any one circumstance?

Yup–I got laid off. LOL! I had set down my writing for years, but when I got laid off from my biology job, God very clearly told me I could start writing again, and seriously this time. I did go back to work in biology for a while, but I kept writing during that time, I kept pursuing publication.

What made you write Sushi for One?

A bunch of things, but mostly just the absurd stories I heard from friends about their relatives’ obsession with single young people getting married as soon as possible. While many people in my parents’ and grandparents’ generation got married when they were relatively young (in their early twenties), most of my friends pursued their careers before getting married in their thirties or later. I could see a lot of humor in the clash of older mindsets about marriage and the more modern attitude about it.

What future plans has God revealed to you?

Very little. 😦 I’d kind of like writing in the sky, but …

I think I’m very fortunate because unlike some other writers, I know with certainty that writing is what God wants for me. I had laid down my writing at one point, and the fact He clearly had me take it up again gave me His approval and blessing over what I’m doing, no matter how my career turns out.

When you’ve finished a manuscript, how do you reward yourself?

I’ll usually take a day off to do nothing but read, knit, and watch movies! I’ve also enjoyed buying cherries and eating those for a treat (bing cherries are my favorite snack).

Thanks for having me here!

REVIEW

Sushi for One? is a wonderfully engaging novel. Even though the plot revolves around an Asian family, the clash between generations spans all ethnic backgrounds.

Lex is a single woman content to just live with her dad, do her job and coach her girl’s volleyball team. Enter the meddling grandmother who is determined to marry off all her grandchildren into wedded bliss, whether they like it or not! (Grandmother is a delightful mixture of charm and brutal honesty with a just touch of spite.) Lex’s world is turned upside down and she begins to lose everything.

Lex’s cousins are every woman’s best buddies: the flirt, wild child, true friend. But don’t assume that these characters are one-dimensional. This story shows that we all have weaknesses and only our faith will show our strengths.

Then there are the men! The male characters are funny, surprising and poignant. Lex finds herself fending off a stream of bachelors sent her way by her well-meaning(?) brother, Richard. Can she find the handsome prince that the Lord has chosen for her out of this parade of frogs?

Camy has surprises around every corner. Her storyline takes you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions from a hilariously funny exchange at a family gathering to the deep valleys of, well … you’ll have to read the book. WARNING: Better have tissues and chocolate near by!

We can look forward to hearing more from Camy and her “romance with a kick of wasabi!”

One thought on “Sushi for One? by Camy Tang

Leave a Reply

