… [W]ill be faithful to complete it.

I’ve been shamed.

The last few days I’ve been wallowing – just a little – in self-pity because of what I haven’t been able to do. I’ve been a little under-the-weather (see my last blog) and couldn’t concentrate or had too much to do or a whole list of other excuses for not doing what I knew I should be doing.

This morning I got a couple of e-mails that closed down my pity party. One was a link to a YouTube video and the other was an update from a friend of mine.

If you click on the link above, you’ll see a video about Patrick Hughes, a young man blind and crippled from birth, who exemplifies courage and perseverance. This young man, who cannot extend his arms or legs fully, is a musical prodigy. He has played requests on the piano since age 2. He also plays trumpet – both instruments that require a bit of manual dexterity. The video contains a clip of him playing the Debussy’s Clair de Lune. It was beautiful!

But here’s the really inspiring thing: he, along with his father, participate in a marching band! The band director requested that he join the band. So his father, who already goes to work every night at 11 p.m. to work the graveyard shift so that he attend school with his son, also makes sure that his son participates by pushing his wheelchair in the marching band!

I won’t go into detail about the prayer update for privacy reasons, but I will say that the Lord is clearly in control of her life as she has produced work in spite of being the primary caregiver for a severely ill family member.

And then, just to make sure I got the point, my Bible reading this morning was: “In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:4-6.

Can you see why I’ve been shamed? When I am doing the Lord’s work, it doesn’t matter what difficulties life may throw my way. If I am doing His work, then He is in control. I am not. My circumstances are not.

How convicting! What a comfort.

Leave a Reply

