A Special Calling

Nevertheless, each one should retain their place in life that the Lord assigned to him and to which God has called him. – I Corinthians 7:17

The One who calls you is faithful and he will do it. – I Thessalonians 5:24

One e-devotional topic was having a “special calling.” It basically said that we are all in full-time ministry, no matter how we made our money. It used the Scriptures above to support that premise.

This reminds me of the Experiencing God step that said keep on doing what God has called you to do unless he gives you different directions. As a struggling author/artist/person – period, this reminds me that what I do is not in my own strength. It is only through God’s strength that I can do the little bit I can. Just as with Paul, I have certain physical limitations. But, again like Paul, I can overcome those limitations by doing only what God calls me to do.

There are days that I find myself struggling, not only physically, but emotionally, mentally and spiritually. I wonder:
· Why am I working a full-time job when I could be pursuing my calling?
· Am I wasting my time?
· Why did God give me this dream, when I don’t have the time to pursue my calling?

And when I think those things, I’m either panicked or ashamed. Panic sets in because I try to wrestle control of the situation away from God. Ashamed, because I realize that’s what I’ve done. Also, because I’ve probably snapped at someone in the process.

When will I learn that no matter how wonderful I think I can handle things, God is the Creator, the Author, the Finisher and the Protector of my faith. He has called me. He is in control.

Father, help me always to remember that the struggles I have are temporary and worthy of learning. You allow me to go through these times to learn more of You and to prepare me for Your work. Thank you, Father for Your love for me.

Leave a Reply

